As most Danish town churches, Nørup Church was built in the Roman times. As a result of later alterations and extensions, the church is today rather unique, both on the outside and in particular on the inside with its well-preserved baroque furniture.
The church belonged to the nearby Engelsholm Castle from 1586 to 1935. Engelsholm has been owned by several well-known aristocratic families, of which four have left their mark on the church. But it is, in particular, Gerhard de Lichtenberg, who is visible in the church today.
The church was built in the eleventh century and comprises a roman nave and chancel as well as a late Gothic tower. A chapel from 1621 is found on the north side. Knud Brahe and Margrethe Lange are buried in the crypt beneath the chapel, which Margrethe Lange ordered built in 1621.
Frederik Danneskjold Samsøe renewed the church with an organ in the 1720s, which was rather unusual for a village church at that time.
In the 1730s, de Lichtenstein added the characteristic onion-shaped domes to the church and the castle. Most of the furniture in the church was replaced with baroque art and the church was emblazoned by de Lichtenberg and his wife.
Of particular interest are the family chair, the pulpit, the font and the altarpiece, which were richly decorated with paint and carvings.
The graveyard has several sepulchral monuments over former owners of Engelsholm.
The church is open year-round. Access by prior appointment only.
Last updated byVisitVejle firstname.lastname@example.org
City / Area
- open all year round (Kirken kan besøges hele året efter forudgående aftale)
CoordinatesLongtitude : 9.304599
Latitude : 55.719987